Pawtributor
Maureen

Shar-Pei Mom's Dinner Time Question

Hi Pet Lovers,

I'm new to Pet360 this week. Please bare with me as I give you some back story:

I have 2 Chinese Shar-Peis named Zoey (a 5 year old lilac female) and Otis (a 1 year old blue male). When Otis was brand new to our home last fall, Zoey welcomed him eagerly. They get along very well, and interact and play appropriately; both with one another and with visitors, especially children. As Otis grew and they became nearly the same size -- in height anyway -- she has become very, VERY protective of all things edible. Zoey growls and nips & blocks Otis from access to food & treats; and although these dogs are treated completely equal and given the exact same toys, treats and amount of affection, Zoey has made it clear to him that she is ALPHA. As a result, I believe Otis has developed a slight aversion to food. We put the food bowls down in seperate areas for them morning and night, feeding each an 8oz portion of their foods. We feed Nutro Natural food -- for Otis, puppy formula and for Zoey, lite formula because we have to keep her weight stable. Each dog weighs about 42-44 pounds which is normal, but Zoey's girth is wider and Otis is lean and about 2 inches taller. They only eat small kibble dry food and I'm proud to say because of the dry crunchy foods, my Vet says their teeth and gums are in excellent health.

To enhance Otis' appetite, & try to increse his interest in food, I have stirred in some jarred gravy a few times but recently just soak in warm water to soften a bit and make an aromatic gravy. Oh -- I forgot to add -- myself or my husband have to sit on the kitchen floor until he is finished eating because he may move to the water bowl mid-meal or lose interest and Zoey will pounce on the scene and GOBBLE up the remaining food...and he doesn't seem to care. Zoey eats in record time and then hovers over Otis until he's done or abandons his bowl.